The Best Gear

One of the best parts of roleplaying is when your characters get new gear. After slogging through a baddie-infested dungeon or weathering a big boss fight, you get the payoff: loot. And every so often, your character gets that one weapon they’ve been waiting for, that one magic item they’ve needed — the thing that’s gonna get the job done.

If you’re a rogue, you get the keen-edged, enchanted dagger that makes you stealthier. If you’re the Jedi, you get the modified lightsaber that fits your fighting style. If you’re the mage, you get the scroll containing the spell you’ve been trying to find.

You know that thing that fits just perfect? That thing that solves the problem you didn’t know you had? That’s what Christians are supposed to be for the people around us.

Above: Sharp, double-edged sword

Do not offer any part of yourself to sin as an instrument of wickedness, but rather offer yourselves to God as those who have been brought from death to life; and offer every part of yourself to him as an instrument of righteousness.

-Romans 6:13

The best gear is the kind that fits your character concept. Instruments of righteousness fit the concept God built into us.

Our redemption is not a technicality. We are not delivered into neutrality, nor impotent frustration. We are brought into life and power. We’re not dead weight for God to carry; we’re instruments of righteousness. We live to propagate life.

Our words are to cut through untruth like scalpels. Our wills are to break through temptation like sledgehammers. Our prayers are to wither the ranks of demons like machine guns.

If you want that kind of faith but don’t have it, pray for it. Seek it out. God will honor your efforts and change you from within. He’ll empower you to serve the purpose you’re meant for.

Because our lives are meant to spread life. That’s what it means to be an instrument of righteousness.

About Brian Armitage

Struggling to live like Jesus, celebrating mild successes.

Posted on March 11, 2012, in Christianity, Gaming, Geekery, Holiness, The Bible and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. …but then I took an arrow in the knee. 😦

    • Brian Armitage

      Ha.

      • To me, life is not a gift to be cherished but more like a work assignment that must be done (or you’ll get “fired”). I believe in God but find no reason to praise him, nevermind love him. Yes there are good things in my life, you could call them blessings, but in total they don’t seem to be worth all the bad things in life. If, at the end of my life, I were asked to vote on whether existence was “worth it”, I would vote no. If I enter into another life that is full of blessings and has little or no negatives then at that time I will praise God.

      • Brian Armitage

        I hear ya. I used to think the same way. After serving God for a while, however, I’ve changed my mind.
        I have an observation and a question. First, this life isn’t all there is. Our choices here affect our eternity. God has promised that Heaven will more than make up for all the suffering we experience here. He invites everyone to partake in Heaven, not because we deserve it, but because He loves us. I think that’s a good reason to love him.
        My question to you is, do you believe your life has a purpose? That God made you for a specific reason?

      • Everything happens for a reason, right? First there was the word, and all of creation followed from the word. So everything is infused with meaning. Whatever purpose God has for me in his divine plan though, seems wholly underwhelming at this point. My life is full of regrets, failure, emotional trauma, and a fundamental incongruence between what I want to be and what I can possibly be. So I suppose the purpose of my mediocre existence is to stand as contrast to those who are happy, fulfilled, successful, are filled with dreams and are able to fulfill them. Those rare, beautiful stories that God has crafted can clearly shine against the backdrop of dimly lit rabble.

      • Brian Armitage

        Let me suggest another possibility: this is merely the dark part of your story, which will make the joy God means for you even sweeter in the end — if not in this life, then certainly in eternity.
        But conversations like these are only so useful on a theoretical level. If you’d like, send me an email via the contact form. We can talk about what you’ve been through in however much detail you want.

  2. Thanks Brian, I really appreciate your responses. Actually my life is better than it has ever been at this moment and I should be grateful, however certain things have happened in my life that make it difficult for me to trust or love God. For now I’ll just try to be grateful for my many blessings and ignore what I felt as a betrayal by God himself.

    • Brian Armitage

      Don’t ignore it! That way lies bitterness and resentment.
      If you want to re-establish your trust in God, pray honestly. Tell Him directly how you feel. Ask for answers. Ask for healing. He may not give you a full explanation, but He will certainly show you why you can trust Him.
      It’s good that you recognize your blessings. Remember where real blessings come from; that’s part of the answer you’re looking for.

Leave a Reply

